It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Lack of knowledge in the workplace.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on May, 7 2006 @ 07:48 AM
link   
Have you ever met a cocktail waitress who doesn't know how to make cocktails?
Have you ever met a corn-farmer who doesn't know anything about corn?
Have you ever met a pilot who can't fly?

Probably not. the fact is that people know and understand their profession. If they don't know what they are getting into when they get the job they should LEARN. For example, I work in the liquor trade. I'm expected to know the types of wines, beers, spirits, alcoholic content, standard drinks etc. when i started in the trade, i knew next to nothing about it, but i learnt what was required, and then some.

So, whats this thread about?
Well about a month and a half i walked into DickSmith Powerhouse. (Australia's largest electrical/entertainment chain store). I was approached by someone who asked if i needed any help. I explained to him that i know nothing about computers, but i want a Laptop. Anything will do, size, memory, speed ect... i dont care, as long as it had a DVD writer/burner, as a MUST. He suggested one. so i bought it. It plays DVDs & CDs, & burns CDs pretty well. nearly 2 months later, (last night) it said that i was running out of 'virtual memory.' fair enough. So i tried to burn my files to DVD... But it wont let me. Checked up on it... It CANT BURN DVD DISCS!

Now im out of pocket and cant continue with work. ALL BECAUSE of someone INCOMPETENCE/ Lack of knowledge in his own work place. Because of their refund policy, i cant return it.

In conclusion no-one should be in a business that they cant satisfy the prerequisites.
And to a lesser extent, more businesses should have a (strict) probation period.

posted on May, 7 2006 @ 10:46 AM
link