It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Recommended binoculars for skywatching?

page: 1

join
share:
CX

posted on May, 6 2006 @ 06:15 AM
link   
As a total skywatching beginner, i was wondering how many of you here use binoculars for exploring the night sky? I'm getting a set of 20x60 for basic observation, what would people recommend for seeing the juicy stuff?

CX.

posted on May, 6 2006 @ 10:43 AM
link   
Binoculars is the perfect way to start sky viewing with. Although I think for
wide field use 20 power binoculars is too much. I prefer 7 power binos like
7x50's, this too me is the perfect bino for star gazing.

20's are a bit too much and require a very steady hand, if you are going to use
them invest in a viewing stand or the shaking will become annoying after time.

If you want more aperature such as 80's, or 100's, it would be cheaper to buy a
6 or 8" Dobsonian telescope. More bang for the buck if you ask me.

posted on May, 6 2006 @ 11:45 AM
link   
Binoc's... I've found over the years that I like different one's for different things. I started collecting them at thrift shops and I like my crappy old Tasco 4X for finding things and then switching to my giant Bushnell Safaris once finding the target.

Please be careful! You can seriously injure your eyes both from just switching binoc's and the light they concentrate... don't drop one on your foot, they're heavy.

Get out of urban lit areas, get a tripod and a telescope too - watch the moon near the circumference at the one o'clock position - twice (years apart) I could swear I saw flashes of light. Happy viewing.

Victor K.

posted on May, 6 2006 @ 12:24 PM
link