It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Possible dumb question

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 24 2006 @ 02:06 PM
link   
Say in the future we devolp a way to travel past the speed of light,and we set up say a HUbble telescope like insturment in some far off region off the universe and point it at earth

Would it be like seeing the light from stars millions of yars ago? i.e. see earth in its infancy,etc ?

posted on Mar, 24 2006 @ 02:07 PM
link   
Yes.

There are no dumb questions.

posted on Mar, 24 2006 @ 02:08 PM
link   
thats incredible. Its unlikely I will live to see that day, but I can alays hope.

posted on Mar, 24 2006 @ 02:13 PM
link   
There are no dumb questions, only dumb people.

(as a teacher I once had was fond of saying)

The light we see from stars is millions of years old.

[edit on 24-3-2006 by HowardRoark]

posted on Mar, 24 2006 @ 02:20 PM
link   
Wow Howard...this is the first non 9-11 post I've seen from you I think. Anyway, even if we could travel at the speed of light, we would have to travel millions of years to get there to set the telescope up. So, after millions of years we'd only be seeing the light that has basically followed us from when we set out. So, we'd be seeing present day earth (the light from earth from when we set out)...not infant earth.

Now, if we could stargate there instantly, then yes, we could see the infant earth.

posted on Mar, 24 2006 @ 02:22 PM
link   
I think that that is why Darth_Revan said, "a way to travel past the speed of light..."

posted on Mar, 24 2006 @ 02:36 PM
link