|
|
Topic started on 15-1-2006 @ 05:27 AM by Sauron
|
Have you heard of Web Beacons I haven't until now, they are supposed to be like cookies from what I've read, Yahoo uses them to record websites you
visit even when you are not connected to Yahoo. Can anyone shed some light on these Web Beacons.
Anyway here is a link below to opt out if you wish.
Here is their updated privacy statement at privacy.yahoo.com...
About half-way down the page, in the section on cookies, you will see a link that says WEB BEACONS.
Click on the phrase "Web Beacons." On the page that opens, find a paragraph
entitled "Outside the Yahoo Network."
In that section find a little "Click Here to Opt Out" link that will let you "opt-out" of their snooping. Be careful! NOT to click on the next
button shown. It is an "Opt Back In" button that, if clicked, will UNDO the opt-out.
Note that Yahoo's invasion of your privacy - and your ability to opt-out of it - is not user-specific. It is MACHINE specific. That means you will
have to opt-out on every computer (and browser) you use.
Source
[edit on 15/1/2006 by Sauron]
|
copyright & usage
|
Click here for more General Conspiracy Discussion topics
Hot Topics
|
Top Topics
|
This Week
|
Subscribe
|
Home
|
reply posted on 15-1-2006 @ 06:42 AM by ArMaP
|
Thats nothing knew.
Lots of sites use that.
You can find and explanation here
You can find one of those things at the bottom of this page. It is used for the site statistics, I suppose, and it is a 8X8 pixels PNG image.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-1-2006 @ 01:14 PM by Mr101Hazardous
|
If it bugs you that they are there, just download a good Cleaner software.
I payed for mine and it dumps all the cookies that have been added at the end of the day.
[edit on 15-1-2006 by Mr101Hazardous]
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-1-2006 @ 01:34 PM by Echtelion
|
Originally posted by ArMaP
Thats nothing knew.
Lots of sites use that.
You can find and explanation here
You can find one of those things at the bottom of this page. It is used for the site statistics, I suppose, and it is a 8X8 pixels PNG image.
webopedia???  A trash commercial competitor to Wikipedia, or is it? Or a plain spam site... Uugh!
Here's a eloquent, detailed explanation of a web beacon, focusing on how it works and how it violates your online privacy:
From Wikipedia: Web Beacon
[edit on 15/1/06 by Echtelion]
|
copyright & usage
|
|
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.
|
reply posted on 15-1-2006 @ 04:03 PM by isisinanna
|
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-1-2006 @ 04:53 PM by UndercoverFBIAgent
|
i cant help to laugh.bwahahahahahahaha.
.
why would this even matter to you unless you are viewing pages not deamed legal in the first place huh???
2nd of all....within how many page views does yahoo get per day, does it even matter why. they arent gonna show up at your door and say,"yes
mr.soansso, we have the info on you that you went to blahblahblah website." It's not gonna happen. nd i think this topic needs to be locked.
(Mod edit-please see your u2u)
[edit on 15-1-2006 by asala]
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 15-1-2006 @ 05:21 PM by Mr101Hazardous
|
FBI=Fabulously Bad Investigator !  I smell a noob here  It's all good though!  I think this is a great site!  People get to come here
and air out what bugs them and put there 2 cents in. Some times all you need to do is just take a little of your rights away in a very small manner.
Over time if you just site there and just go who cares, they just wont something small, you in up with not a leg to stand on. It is for the most part
a little paranoid but at lest he is asking why are they doing this
P.S. I have seen the real "paranoid" They would not get near a computer to save there lives
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 16-1-2006 @ 05:04 PM by ufia
|
They track me very well, I received this email from department@cia.gov in my inbox.
Dear Sir/Madam,
we have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites.
Important:
Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.
Yours faithfully,
Steven Allison
++++ Central Intelligence Agency -CIA-
++++ Office of Public Affairs
++++ Washington, D.C. 20505
++++ phone: (703) 482-0623
++++ 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., US Eastern time
Nah, I know it is spam sent all over the intarmail, no need send me oranges to federal prison.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 16-1-2006 @ 06:24 PM by redhat
|
Originally posted by ufia
They track me very well, I received this email from department@cia.gov in my inbox.
Dear Sir/Madam,
we have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites.
Important:
Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.
Yours faithfully,
Steven Allison
++++ Central Intelligence Agency -CIA-
++++ Office of Public Affairs
++++ Washington, D.C. 20505
++++ phone: (703) 482-0623
++++ 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., US Eastern time
Nah, I know it is spam sent all over the intarmail, no need send me oranges to federal prison.
I hope you have a good antivirus program or that you didn't open that attachment because it's a virus. A friend of mine got the same email and
opened the attachment and his computer went out of control. It started sending out hundreds of emails and it then wouldn't let him update his
antivirus definitions.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |