Can I hear your thoughts on Perpetual Motion?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join

posted on Jan, 12 2006 @ 07:23 PM
link   
Hi all!
I'm not a scientist and I don't play one on TV.
I'm just a tinkerer, I get an interesting thought and I research it and maybe build a prototype and explore the "what ifs".
I recently came across an interesting motor nicknamed "The Magnetic Wankel" Link to info. I built a model out of wood and sheet nylon. I added some of the magnets (I have to get more) and mounted the rotor on a bearing salvaged from a hard drive. It's not even close to being done yet, but I couldn't resist giving it a spin and holding magnets up to the wheel to see the results. I leaned a stack of about 20 circular magnets up by the wheel, at a slight angle to the rotation and gave the wheel a spin. It spun, and spun, and spun.... for maybe 15 minutes until it finally quit. If I spin it without any magnets nearby it only goes for about a minute until it slows to a stop.

I know, it's not perpetual, just makes me wonder even more.

Something made it keep going, but how?

If you have any thoughts on perpetual motion I'd like to hear it, ok?
Anything at all, be funny, be serious,,,, whatever.

Don't get too technical with me though, I'm a garage experimenter.

Thanks in advance for any input!

posted on Jan, 12 2006 @ 08:17 PM
link   
Anyone who says that perpetual motion is not possible need only look at our solar system or the structure of the atom. Both are perpetual motion by definition. We just need to find something in between these two.

Good luck on your project.

posted on Jan, 13 2006 @ 06:50 AM
link   
When I posted this I had the thing set up on my desk at work. After work I brought the whole thing home and set it up on the kitchen table.
Now I can't duplicate what it did before

I still would like to hear your thoughts on this......

posted on Jan, 18 2006 @ 02:08 PM
link