It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

How to Get People to Read Your Posts.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Aug, 4 2005 @ 06:50 AM
link   
On Sept 11th I will have been a member of ATS for 3 years in that time you can imagine the striking changes that have occured, all for the better.

But the discussion board enviroment has changed too. Back then, when if 10 people were on at the same time it was deemed busy, having your views read and replied too here on ATS was simple. With so few posts I'm sure I read everything posted everyday.

Now things are very different the board is extremely meritocratic and though I'm no expert I hope you don't mind if I pass on some advice. Of course there is no right way to post but there are, if not wrong ways then, less right ways to post. So these are my top tips, I hope they help.

1/ Title. Your title is a sign post. It is the most important part of your post in many ways. The member or guest will decide whether they wish to read your post on it's basis and you only have a limited amount of words to hook them. Too many words and much of the title can go unseen from the main discussion board index page (your primary advertisment). The title must give the essence of what you want to post and you can not use full caps to give your post emphasis (excepting Acronyms).

Think carefully about your title !

2/ So you've hooked your reader with your title and he takes one look and goes somewhere else. After all the hard work you've put in you have a few views but no ones replied and your story is slipping down the list faster than a Chucubera from a cameraman. Why ?? Is it a conspiracy ? Is it because you're new ?

No. The most common reasons are.