This topic is in the Board Business & Questions discussion forum.  (rss)


Parasite software??




Topic started on 31-7-2003 @ 12:18 AM by Banshee


Over the last couple days, I've received prompts to download a program called "SpyBlast" while visiting the ATS forum.
It's originating from teknosurf.com which is part of advertising.com.

www.doxdesk.com...

Anyone else getting this?
-B.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 31-7-2003 @ 02:33 AM by Zion Mainframe


nope.
I did however received a MS netsend message to my IP address with something in Italian on it. Pretty weird, I shut the service down right after that...

Other than that, I haven't received any pop-ups or other kinds of ads...

Are you sure AboveTopSecret.com caused the pop-up? Seems highly unlikely since william agreed not to use pop-ups.(there aren't any commercial banners at all on the board right now...)



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 31-7-2003 @ 02:37 AM by MaskedAvatar


Sounds like it could be coincidental.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 31-7-2003 @ 02:40 AM by tututkamen



Originally posted by Zion Mainframe
nope.
I did however received a MS netsend message to my IP address with something in Italian on it. Pretty weird, I shut the service down right after that...

Other than that, I haven't received any pop-ups or other kinds of ads...

Are you sure AboveTopSecret.com caused the pop-up? Seems highly unlikely since william agreed not to use pop-ups.(there aren't any commercial banners at all on the board right now...)

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Last week my virus detection system kicked on while I was in ATS and I cut my ISP connection and let the anti virus do-hicky run it's program. After a half hour it spit out your pop up Zion?
I can't explain it, can you?

tut tut



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 1-8-2003 @ 04:51 PM by SimonGray


There are absolutely no third-party advertisements running on the board itself, apart from the banner system that was implemented to advertise the websites of ATS members.

The main site however does make use of advertising banners through Fastclick.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 1-8-2003 @ 05:52 PM by Banshee



Originally posted by SimonGray
There are absolutely no third-party advertisements running on the board itself, apart from the banner system that was implemented to advertise the websites of ATS members.

The main site however does make use of advertising banners through Fastclick.


Maybe it was from those banners....
ATS was the only window I had open at the time, which is why I speculated it came from the banners somewhere on the site.


-B.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 2-8-2003 @ 03:00 PM by Zion Mainframe



Originally posted by Banshee
Maybe it was from those banners....
ATS was the only window I had open at the time, which is why I speculated it came from the banners somewhere on the site.


-B.



Nope, impossible.
Are you sure you did have any apps running, like kazaa, irc, any unregistered software ect...



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 2-8-2003 @ 03:13 PM by Banshee



Originally posted by Zion Mainframe

Nope, impossible.
Are you sure you did have any apps running, like kazaa, irc, any unregistered software ect...


Positive I didn't have anything else running.
All my software is registered and at the time I didn't have any apps running.
I thought it was odd (and highly unlikely) myself, but I couldn't pin it on anything else.

-B.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2003 @ 09:14 AM by Estragon


"adware" creeps in, despite the best intentions of all concerned. Take precautions and live with it. I just had -yesterday - a deluge of the Chekin trojan: blah yawn...run...regedit..Tedious.
Estragon can barely connect a serial cable; but he does read William's tips in XMB: frequently, good advice is given there about firewalls, protection etc.
It's a plague of the Net ( you phone the world at once): but ATS technical bods do a good job of warning.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 










Top Topics Right Now:



Active Topics Right Now:



ATS MIX Podcasts:











Newest Topics:

















ATS Thread Tag System
Members can add a custom descriptive tag to any thread on ATS. Thread Tags will help categorize our site content, help to cross-reference similar threads, and improve the searchability of all ATS threads. This thread is currently defined by these tags:

, ,
















ATS Server: www2.theabovenetwork.com
Powered by AboveTop:Board v2.3
Header data processed in 0.002 seconds
Page processed in 0.075 seconds
7 total database queries (1)









The Above Top Secret Conspiracy Community Web site is a wholly owned social content community of The Above Network, LLC.





thread