Help ATS with a contribution via PayPal:
learn more

Just Joined The Seti @ Home Program

page: 1
0
<<   2 >>

log in

join

posted on Jul, 27 2003 @ 09:06 PM
link   
After thinking about it for a while I decided to join the Seti@home program. Since I leave my computer running almost 24/7 I decided it why not. Every little bit helps.




posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 12:00 AM
link   
Hey Ocelot, you're not alone, I'm in on it too.
I don't know how it works, but it sounds cool.


Down with the new shiznit,
Tassadar



posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 03:41 AM
link   

Originally posted by Tassadar
Hey Ocelot, you're not alone, I'm in on it too.
I don't know how it works, but it sounds cool.


Down with the new shiznit,
Tassadar


Yeah LOL! I just leave it running in the BG whenever im not playing any Multiplayer games that is since it hogs 100% of the CPU.



posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 03:43 AM
link   
Ive already completed 5 units in just 3 days. Oh and Tassadar be sure to sign up with the ATS Seti group.



posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 10:01 AM
link   
ok, uhmmm
I don't want to sound stupid or anything even though I'm going to... two questions/probems:

1.) Where do I join the ATS seti@home team?

2.) I can't connect to the server. I have been suffering from loss of many online functions recently. So I can't use the ATS chat program either. Eveyone says I probably have a firewall installed, but I don't know where it is, or how to find it. Then, how do i turn it off?

If someone could help, that'd be great,
Tassadar

[Edited on 31-7-2003 by Tassadar]



posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 10:27 AM
link   
You can join the ATS Seti group here:
setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu...

As for disabling your firewall, which OS are you running? If it's XP you may have the in-built firewall enabled for your internet connection. In which case just bring up the connection properties and un-check the box on the last tab.

If you're not running XP, or you are and you definitely don't have the in-built firewall enabled, it should just be a case of bringing up the task manager to see which processes are running. If you like, feel free to U2U message me and I'll assist further if I can.




posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 10:28 AM
link   
I used to have Seti back in the day
i should install it agiain
If you dont know how it works they explain it to you on the website
duhh
Groups are also located somewhere on the website al u gota do is search for it
and ur Firewall how to turn it off hmmmmmmmm
Press ctrl alt dlt and see whats runnin if you dont know what those things are search them on google to see what they are if they have anythin to do wit firewalls shutem off by endin task
If you have zone Alarm its easy to shut that off
try searchin for firewall on ur computer by doin that find file thing
mayb that will help



posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 04:27 PM
link   
Is there anyway I could register my account onlne?
I have to be registered to download, analyze and join the team. I can do all three of those, I just have to create an account. I can't access it from my house because AOL 8.0 has a firewall and the techies are dumber than me (that's sayin' something)!!!
I can't get rid of the firewall.

Tassadar



posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 04:34 PM
link   
Did you end up calling them? What a bummer...and there's no way of disabling it?

Even if you can configure it, maybe find out which port the Seti@home client uses and enable the port in the firewall settings.

I know you can do this on 3rd party firewalls, but I can't imagine AOL giving you those settings!



posted on Jul, 31 2003 @ 04:52 PM
link   
Never call AOL!!!!! They suck!!

Check out this thread on it, they suck!!!
www.abovetopsecret.com...

Tassadar



posted on Aug, 1 2003 @ 09:44 AM
link   

Originally posted by Kigga
Press ctrl alt dlt and see whats runnin if you dont know what those things are search them on google to see

To see what's running? Last time I checked, ctrl alt del reboots your pc.



posted on Aug, 1 2003 @ 09:49 AM
link   
You have to press it twice, or hold ctrl, alt, then double tap delete.

When you do it once it brings up that window that shows you what's running.

Tassadar



posted on Aug, 31 2003 @ 06:34 PM
link   
I joined ATS seiti today, my comp is up for like 2 weeks at a time
.



posted on Sep, 1 2003 @ 06:58 AM
link   
Good luck - you should be able to clock up some units in no time at all with that kind of up-time.

My laptop would melt after about 2 days



posted on Sep, 4 2003 @ 07:14 PM
link   
I joined the program back in 2000, I only completed 14 dataunits and then I forgot all about it, but here the other day I saw that ATS had a team so I downloaded the client again just now and joined it.



posted on Sep, 4 2003 @ 07:26 PM
link   
I don't trust seti.. don't know why, I just don't..



posted on Sep, 4 2003 @ 07:28 PM
link   
Yeah,why do they eed our computers to analyze it anyways?



posted on Sep, 5 2003 @ 12:31 AM
link   
i joined seti awhile back.. 141 unites completed yay!



posted on Sep, 5 2003 @ 06:27 AM
link   

Originally posted by Tassadar
Yeah,why do they eed our computers to analyze it anyways?


Computing power - the amount of data being collected by the SETI program would take far too long to process if it wasn't for the massive number of users who have joined the program.

Limited funding is probably also an issue. See it from their point of view... do we buy several huge supercomputers and blow our budget for the next 10 years, or do we get internet users to do it for us for nothing?

I know what I'd choose.



posted on Sep, 14 2003 @ 06:33 AM
link   
I just joined too. Is there any advantage for SETI for us joining a group? Or is it just to make things more interesting?






top topics



 
0
<<   2 >>

log in

join