It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

SCI/TECH: Flying Cars going into production

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 18 2005 @ 08:29 AM
link   
Self-taught inventor Woody Norris, who has created the AirScooter, will begin selling his flying car for $50,000. The AirScooter is capable of flying "for 2 hours at 55 mph, and go up to 10,000 feet above sea level", can be flown in non-restricted airspace if kept under 400 ft, and will not need a pilot license to operate. The AirScooter's production seems to go hand in hand with NASA's latest development of their computer system called "The Highway in the Sky". This system will allow millions the ability to operate their flying machines while taking off and landing just about anywhere.

www.cbsnews.com
The folks at NASA have built something called “The Highway in the Sky.” It's a computer system designed to let millions of people fly whenever they please, and take off and land from wherever they please, in their very own vehicles.

And here’s the good news -- a lot of people are building machines you’ll be
able to buy.

One of those people is an inventor named Woody Norris. This week, he will receive America’s top prize for invention. It’s called the Lemelson-MIT award -- a half-million dollar cash prize to honor his life’s work, which includes a brand new personal flying machine. Correspondent Bob Simon reports.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It's called the AirScooter, and self-taught inventor Woody Norris says it goes on sale later this year.

Norris, 66, asked one of his test pilots to demonstrate the AirScooter for 60 Minutes on a hilltop outside San Diego, Calif. It can fly for 2 hours at 55 mph, and go up to 10,000 feet above sea level.