It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

lock heed sr-71 and sr-71B , wierd...

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 26 2005 @ 08:57 AM
link   
i have got a book about flight and it has 2 pageso on the blackbird, it shows 2 diffrent planes though, they look the same but one has a visible window that s above and behingd the cockpit. i looked and i saw one was the sr-71 and other was the sr-71 b. what others r there? if there is not many could i have pic of all of them plz lol

posted on Mar, 26 2005 @ 09:01 AM
link   
Im not an expert, but I believe the "b" version is the trainer version for pilots to learn in...you just cant get in that thing know how to fly it.

I think them are the only 2 types ever made with the sr-71b being the only variation from the original....why else would they need other types?

Hope that helps

posted on Mar, 26 2005 @ 09:08 AM
link   
ok, i would be logical seeing as the second cockpit is right abv and bhind,

posted on Mar, 26 2005 @ 09:20 AM
link   
The window you probably can see is the Reconnaissance Systems Officers position, which was included as part of the SR-71 series, or a second pilots seat for training. The type of SR-71 without a SRO position are actually converted A-12 aircraft, built for the Oxcart program for the CIA which flew with only the pilot.

The SR-71 program grew out of the A-12 program simply as a matter of course. The CIA intelligence program was not accessable to the USAF so they purchased a number of A-12 articles of their own, starting the SR-71 primarily as a Recon/Strike variant.

The first SR-71, essentially a modified A-12 article, flew on December 22nd, 1964. The main difference between the SR-71 proper and the A-12 conversions being the addition of the SRO position behind the pilot.

The major types of Blackbird are: