It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

"There is no evidence!" - yes, there is, you just don't understand how civil litigation works

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:
+33 more 
posted on Nov, 23 2020 @ 04:20 PM
link   
I'm sick and tired of seeing all of the ridiculous comments about the lack of evidence and these cases being thrown out.

Most of these comments are from people who have no clue how the legal system works. I'm not a lawyer, but I've been studying law from a layman's perspective for a long time, so I could actually explain this to you myself, but, since you would just dismiss it because IANAL, I'll let a real lawyer explain it to you. He goes into detail as to why these affidavits are just the starting point, why you don't need to present underlying evidence, you only need to submit enough to 'state a claim upon which relief may be granted'.

Affidavits are evidence, and all this is required to get a civil case going.

Once a lawsuit is filed, it must survive the usual and expected Motion to Dismiss for failure to state a claim upon which relief may be granted. To do this is not a difficult hurdle. Why? Because the Judge must rule on such a motion as if the claims in the affidavits are true. The judge cano not dismiss it because he finds the claims 'far-fetched' or 'without merit' or 'baseless'. He must make his ruling on whether the suit can go forward by asking the question: If the claims are true, would the plaintiff have a case?

So, let's see what the great one has to say on the subject...

+2 more 
posted on Nov, 23 2020 @ 04:29 PM
link   
a reply to: tanstaafl

Lying on an affidavit is also considered perjury.
In Michigan it’s punishable with up to 15 years in prison.

After a affidavit is filed, the contents must be evaluated.