It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Questions about college and all that

page: 2
<< 1   >>

join
share:

posted on Jun, 10 2020 @ 10:16 PM
link   
a reply to: 1947boomer

Thanks, this response is helpful.

Basically, ever since I got out of the Navy I've had no hardship using my experience before the military, during the military, and afterwards to get just about any job I've wanted. I've got an extensive amount of knowledge and experience, and have, up until recently been able to rely on that to get a position.

I still could get a position at any number of jobs, but to do so I'd have to go back to being on the road, and living out of motels for the majority of the year. Which is what I'm trying to avoid.

My recent experiences with obtaining a position that doesn't require a ridiculous amount of travel has been abysmal.

These interviews I answer all of the questions, both technical and HR, appropriately. I demonstrate my knowledge. I get everyone cracking smiles. Lot's of handshakes, and then they say they'll call me back. I get the call, and they say they want to offer me a different position than the one I interviewed for, or they even say they found someone with better experience.

I have friends who already work at these companies, and when I ask them what did they have that I didn't I've had a few different answers.

At a couple of places they felt I was overqualified, or they felt that I wouldn't be happy with what they had set for the pay. At some places I was told that even though I had more experience, they wanted someone with a degree.

And some places my friends told me that HR just had their heads up their asses.