It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Obama State Department Official Calls for Criminalization of Burning the Qur’an

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:
+22 more 
posted on Nov, 2 2019 @ 04:16 PM
link   
pjmedia.com...

The totalitarian tendencies of the Left become more obvious by the day, as the Washington Post continues to cover itself in glory. Richard Stengel is a former editor of Time Magazine and was the State Department’s undersecretary for public diplomacy and public affairs from 2013 to 2016. In this piece, he says the First Amendment is an “outlier” and calls for “hate speech” laws that would criminalize, among other things, the burning of Qur’ans.

Stengel claims that he is a convert to authoritarianism, a former believer in the freedom of speech: “When I was a journalist, I loved Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.’s assertion that the Constitution and the First Amendment are not just about protecting ‘free thought for those who agree with us but freedom for the thought that we hate.’”

3 points to make.

One; He never mentioned the Bible. So I guess that's okay to still burn.

Two; Time to embrace your inner book burner. Seems funny that they are okay with tearing down statues (literally book burning) but are against it when it's something they like.

Three; Without free expression, we are nothing except what we are told to be. This is the growing trend of censoring, banning hate speech. Prohibiting hate speech, only they get to determine what is considered "hate".

Authoritarian indeed.

posted on Nov, 2 2019 @ 04:21 PM
link   

originally posted by: DBCowboy
pjmedia.com...