It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

So the border wall..

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Sep, 27 2019 @ 08:47 AM
link   
This isn't about the right or the left, or even the costs, but just about the theory and practice of how it's been constructed.

I'm not an engineer, but I just checked this video www.youtube.com... and if this is the how the wall will be constructed over 2000 miles, how much of a problem is it to get past it in reality? It does look quite decent and a lot has been made of not being able to go over it (got a ladder anyone..?) or underneath it (cartel drug tunnels anyone..?) but I'm not going there..so if we just look at going through it, what is stopping people from just cutting the bars with a torch and walking though it?

We are told there are sensors, but if the sensors are tripped, surely you'd still get a lot of people through before the police can get there. Especially as some of it is surely quite difficult to get to quickly.

But, if we concentrate on trying get around that vibration alarm, there has to be some base level where the alarm isn't tripped. Strong winds etc and 30ft high and exposed to the elements walls are bound to vibrate to some degree. That means there is a tipping point, so if you could brace one of the bars, couldn't you use a torch to just cut one? If you cut it close to the floor or if you cut it 4ft up, what is the reduction in vibration? Is it enough to stop the alarm being tripped? Because if it is possible to just cut one of those bars without setting an alarm off..that does make the wall pretty pointless.

Again, not trying to start a political fight, just looking at this objectively and scientifically.

posted on Sep, 27 2019 @ 08:56 AM
link