It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The risk of defending others

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 8 2019 @ 03:44 PM
link   
Some preppers make provision for being caught in a violent event, whether it is a bank robbery, a shooting in a public place, or a riot.

What thought have you given to the risks involved if you intervene in the midst of a violent event?

The anti-gun police are constantly telling the public that if you draw a gun to stop a bad man, you may be shot yourself by police who cannot tell the difference between the perpetrator and someone trying to protect the public. (having worked as a cop, I'll tell you that such never comes up, primarily because the cops are not present when something big goes down. Most mass murderers plan their spree so that there will be no cops in the area....)

Say you are on the local college campus for an event, and shooting breaks out. You and others barricade the room you are in. You shut off the lights, lock the door, and hide out of sight. You can hear the gunman running past your room, trying the door and moving on. Now he shooting at the other end of the hallway. Do you emerge from your hiding, to try and flank him? Or just wait for the cops to arrive and count the bodies....?

IF you do emerge, what are the chances that you'll be sued by the gunman's family, etc?

I know someone who defended himself and his wife at a gas station hold-up. The guy had pointed a gun at him. He was arrested by the police arriving at the scene, and interviewed, after being mirandized. Something he said gave the perp's family grounds to sue, because he knew he could have hidden with his wife in the car. He was exonerated, but he sold their house and all their savings to pay defense lawyers....

posted on Apr, 8 2019 @ 04:06 PM
link