It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

How many musicians do we have here?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Feb, 26 2005 @ 02:34 PM
link   
Just curious to see how many other musicians are around, and what typoes of music you guys play/are influenced by, and who your favorite artists are that play your instrument.

I have been playing guitar since I was 15, about 10 years. I started out on Metallica (Kill 'Em All is a great starter for metal guitar), and really anything I could pick up. I have a very good ear and that's how I learned almost everything I know. Never took a lesson in my life. Anyway, my favorite guitarists of all time is easily Dimebag Darrel (I can play alot of his stuff, but only rhythm, his lead rides are way out of my league). and James Hetfield. Never really got into playing lead, I'm just not that good at it. I'll give just about any rhythm player a run for his money though.

Anyway, my influences are:

For heavy stuff: Metallica, Pantera, Killswitch Engage, Godsmack, TOOL, Six Feet Under (for music, not lyrical content), Corrosion of Conformity, Megadeth, Nirvana, Ozzy Osbourne, etc...

For mellow electric/acoustic guitar: Ben Harper, Jack Johnson, Days of The New, Pink Floyd, The Eagles, Eric Clapton, The Hadden Sayers Band, Ian Moore, Big Head Todd and the Monsters, Dave Matthews Band, Tim Reynolds, Tantric, etc...

There are TONS more, of course, that's just what came off the top of my head.

So how 'bout it? Where are the shredders, drummers, singers, bass players, tambourine girls (gotta have those ), pianists, or whatever, and what or who inspires you?

[edit on 2/26/05 by The Axeman]

posted on Feb, 26 2005 @ 05:26 PM
link