It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Wall Street rally fizzles as tech, Amazon falter

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Oct, 29 2018 @ 03:13 PM
link   
The market is in a recession. You would think with the ongoing retail apocalypse Amazon would be crushing it but it's not. You know why? No one has any money to spend. I know because I work in construction and we basically gave up on residential construction and I work in a 3 state radius due to my geographic location.

Reuters

(Reuters) - Declines in big tech and Internet stocks such as Amazon pushed the Nasdaq lower on Monday, while strength in financial shares mitigated declines for the S&P 500 as investors grappled with a recent spike in market volatility.

Major tech and growth stocks, such as Amazon (AMZN.O), Google parent Alphabet (GOOGL.O) and Netflix (NFLX.O), posted sharp declines. The S&P 500 technology sector .SPLRCT fell 1.2 percent.

My prediction is that we are already entering a recession or are in one. The stock buybacks and individual debt rates have been astronomical this year. Flat out plane and simple the majority of American's can no longer afford personal luxuries. Most of you are seeing it all around you buy ignoring the reality.

Retail apocalypse

2018 has been a tough year for some traditional retailers. After shutting down more than 5,000 stores in 2017, there have been nearly 5,000 store closures announced so far this year.

But if Amazon is picking up all of their business why the sharp decline in stock? Is it all the .25 interest rate hikes or something else?

Consumer debt to reach 4 trillion by end of 2018

Americans owe more than 26 percent of their annual income to this debt. That's up from 22 percent in 2010. It's also higher than debt levels during the mid-2000s when credit availability soared.