It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

New Starbucks policy: No purchase needed to sit in cafes

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 21 2018 @ 12:12 PM
link   

I used to spend a lot of money on Starbucks coffee. In fact, I used to work in a building that had a Starbucks in it just a couple hundred feet away where I was a manager for a large electronics company. At any given time there would be 2=7 employees working with me, and often I would head over to Starbucks just prior to break-time to purchase beverages for all of them as well as getting a tall-iced-no whip-vanilla-mocha for myself. This was many years ago and I could afford dropping $20 a couple times a week to pump my employees full of caffeine, but nowadays I may not visit a Starbucks store more than 3 times a year- I just can't justify spending $5 for a single drink that I usually guzzle in under 5 minutes.

I think it's great that Starbucks has made their policy clear and is now allowing anyone to hang out in their stores, but there is always going to be a potential for problems stemming from abuse of this. Gosh, if I were a penniless homeless guy living under a freeway overpass here in Seattle, I would just move into Starbucks. Free WiFi, shelter and warmth, plus, I would root through the garbage, recycle, and food-waste bins for treasures, and scavenge paying customers' tables for scraps! Now, if only they would stay open 24 hours, then I put in a change-of-address and call it HOME!

SOURCE ARTICLE

Starbucks announced a new policy Saturday that allows anyone to sit in its cafes or use its restrooms, even if they don't buy anything. The new policy comes five weeks after two black men who hadn't bought anything were arrested at a Philadelphia Starbucks.