It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Chula Vista school mural depicts severed, speared Trump head

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 5 2018 @ 08:57 AM
link   
WARNING- THIS POST CONTAINS A POTENTIALLY DISTURBING IMAGE

I'm an artist and do not want my work to be censored or controlled, but if I had been commissioned to design a publicly displayed work at a school, I would consider my audience and weigh my options. It is possible to be creative and make a statement without being vulgar. Shocking art can be a valuable tool, but is it appropriate to place such (potentially) disturbing images at a school?
What do you all think? I'm particularly interested in how fellow artists might feel about this!

SOURCE

Chula Vista school mural that depicts the bloody, severed head of President Donald Trump on a spear sparked a controversy that prompted officials to cover it and issue a response distancing themselves from the work. The statement also said the artist will alter the painting.

“We understand that there was a mural painted at the event this past weekend that does not align with our school’s philosophy of non-violence,” read the statement from MAAC Community Charter School director Tommy Ramirez. “We have been in communication with the artist — who has agreed to modify the artwork — to better align with the school’s philosophy.” The event Ramirez referred to was the annual Battlegroundz, a scholarship fundraiser held during the last weekend of April. During the fundraiser, students and invited artists paint murals that highlight urban art in an alley behind the school.
Here's the mural before being covered up:
Modified mural:

ETA: HERE is a link to the schools website.
The school is open to students aged 14-24.
edit on 552018 by seattlerat because: (no reason given)