It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Kneeling during the anthem is honoring what our founding fathers fought for

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:
+97 more 
posted on Sep, 25 2017 @ 10:39 AM
link   
First to start, I'm a veteran. I served in the US Army from 2003 to 2006 and spent time deployed in Iraq. So I've fought for the flag, defended it, and understand its meaning very well. So don't try to pull any crap about me not understanding what the flag stands for.

I'm appalled at so called free speech advocates getting all bent out-of-shape over NFL players protesting the National Anthem by kneeling during it. Saying these players should be fired or fined for their actions. Um. What? For one, these are the same people who complain about conservative speakers having their first amendment rights violated for being banned from speaking engagements. Do they not see the hypocrisy of demanding other people do or say things they want them to?

Plus, there is no law saying you have to honor the National Anthem or the flag. You don't have to salute or put your hand over your heart during the Pledge of Allegiance either. Respecting the flag is a personal choice you make when you see it. Requiring respect is authoritarian to the core.

This action is also a form of protest. Which is another right covered by the First Amendment. You can't complain about it being violent because they are just kneeling and not doing anything else.