It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Who gets into Heaven?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 8 2005 @ 11:58 PM
link   
I'm a high school student and almost everyday my classmates and I argue about religious topics. I live in the Bible Belt, so of course almost everyone in the class is a close-minded Christian.

My question to you all is this: What kind of person can get into heaven?

As an agnostic, i believe that, to get into "heaven", all you have to do is treat others (no matter their religious beliefs) with the utmost dignity and respect. But SOME christians in my class believe that ONLY CHRISTIANS can get into heaven. I think this is ridiculous, because i'm sure that there is a room full of muslims somewhere saying ONLY MUSLIMS get into heaven. If God is our father and he created us, why would he send any of us to hell?

And (to christians), how is it fair that a man who murdered 20 people can get into heaven, as long as he truly accepts christ as his savior, but a non-christian who helps others and leads a great life is damned to hell?

I'd appreciate all input from everyone, regardless of their religous beliefs/backgrounds.

Thank you.

posted on Oct, 3 2005 @ 04:55 AM
link   
I'm not a religious man, but I'd have to say that it would make more sense to get into heaven by just being a good person regardless of religion. Most religions say we should be tolerant of others so hey, maybe heavens just one big party for everyone

posted on Oct, 3 2005 @ 03:33 PM
link   
"The kingdom of heaven is within."

This is the second line so a MOD does not punish me for a one line post.

posted on Oct, 3 2005 @ 03:46 PM
link   
The idea that a higher power could create us and then sentence us to an eternity of hell just because of our actions is ridiculous.