It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Romans only had 1 percent tax. This is what I agree with.

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Jul, 23 2017 @ 02:00 PM
link   
I used to be a Democrat and pro big government. I switched to Libertarian and advocate freedom. The federal government should really only be responsible for collective defense. Things like education and healthcare should be left to the states. The 10th amendment says whatever states can do should be left to the states. Over time, in the US, the federal government had became too large and too overreaching, setting up EPA and department of education and department of health and department of energy and so on and so forth. The federal government is not efficient at providing these services. These services should be done by the states, leaving the federal government to focus on defense and foreign policies.

In the early days of the Roman Republic, public taxes consisted of modest assessments on owned wealth and property. The tax rate under normal circumstances was 1% and sometimes would climb as high as 3% in situations such as war.

By 167 B.C. the Republic had enriched itself greatly through a series of conquests. Gains such as the silver and gold mines in Spain created an excellent source of revenue for the state, and a much larger tax base through its provincial residents. By this time, Rome no longer needed to levy a tax against its citizens in Italy and looked only to the provinces for collections.

www.unrv.com...
edit on 23-7-2017 by allsee4eye because: (no reason given)

posted on Jul, 23 2017 @ 02:01 PM
link   
a reply to: allsee4eye

It's nice when people can agree - even though I'm a Conservative - I agree with your opinion straight up.

Flat tax - it's time!

peace

posted on Jul, 23 2017 @ 02:03 PM
link