It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Impeachment: a discussion of standard of proof and the meaning of “misdemeanors”

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jul, 2 2017 @ 07:19 AM
link   
I am not a lawyer, but I’ve been listening to commentary on T.V. on what’s involved in an impeachment proceeding and trial, so if there are any inaccuracies here, please feel free to chime in and point them out.

I have come to believe that the standard of proof for conviction in an impeachment trial in the Senate is not proof beyond a reasonable doubt, but it is whatever the Senate wants it to be.

So, if that is true, then there is no need for a lengthy, ironclad investigation in order to get on with the impeachment and trial.

If you want to convict on the basis of obstruction of justice, then all that you need do is to present to the Senate the President’s past own words 1.) to Lester Holt when he said that he had the Russia “thing” on his mind when sacking James Comey the Director of the F.B.I. and 2.) to the Russian ambassador when he said, right in the oval office, that the termination of Comey’s employment eased the pressure of the Russia “thing” off him.

Just that alone seems to be adequate for conviction, but if the Senate wants more, then all that they need do is to have Comey and Trump testify under oath at the impeachment trial and weigh the relative credibility of Comey versus the credibility of Trump while keeping the following in mind: did Comey ever get caught in 31 perjurious lies during just ONE deposition in the past? Did Donald Trump? Did Comey ever have 417 lies attributed to him during a 100 day period? Did the great Donald Trump during his first one hundred days in office?