It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Meet: Renaissance inventor, Cornelius Drebbel.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 7 2017 @ 03:47 PM
link   
Hi all, i like to tell you a little about a not so famous, but i think interesting man in history.

Cornelius Drebbel ( 1572 – 1633) was a renaissance man, an inventor an alchemist and an engineer.
An engraver by trade, he went on to many new paths. Not a well known in modern history, Dutch man Cornelius Drebbel was really a man of many disciplines. He traveled along the royal courts of Europe to display, was hired, or got jailed.

This man invented and or contributed many things of i will name a view:

You like your chicken meat or eggs? Thank Drebbel, he invented the The Egg Incubator ( temperature controlled heat ) One of the first feedback controlled devices. No more need for nature, mass production off egg hatching.

The submarine. Cornelius Drebbel did some demonstrations on the Thames for the king, traveling underwater long distances and according to witnesses at least three hours. ( He made oxygen along the way with some chemicals, some say by burning salpeter)

A clock that will always reset itself to realtime when the sun shines ( even when deliberated disturbed) They also would tell the tides.
Beautiful works of art and machinery.

Related to those clocks were systems and Perpetuum mobiles in many forms. He offered self working fountains and moving musical playing statues to the Bavarian King all with the power of ....
A depiction of one of his clocks on a old painting and drawing:

Here is the first page of his official declaration of the perpetuum motion ( in old Dutch)

But he did not stop there, he also invented the perfect red. That is the perfect color red for dying fabrics.