It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Free Arm-Chair Analysis

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 4 2017 @ 12:59 PM
link   
Contrary to popular belief, I am not a professional psychiatrist. Yes shocking I know, but I can't help but notice what is happening to people all around the world. We are experiencing unprecedented times so it's understandable that you feel the way you do, but I am here to reassure you that everything will be okay and the vast mix of emotions you are feeling are all part of the process. Remember folks, there is nothing to be ashamed of.

Shock: The truth of reality, or lack thereof, can be a huge shock to your entire psyche when it goes against everything you thought you knew and believed, leaving you stunned, numb and at a loss for words. This first stage will be the foundation on which everything else will build upon.

Denial: You are still experiencing shock, so naturally every fiber in your being is fighting against this new revelation. You ponder the possibility that you may have been wrong the entire time, but ego and pride are too much to overcome at this early stage.

Anger: Going through stages of shock and denial will ultimately leave you very frustrated and angry as you continue to try and fight off the inevitable. This is the stage where your confusion and bottled up emotions mix together and take over your rational side, leaving you to act out of character and even possibly lash out at people.

Acknowledgement: After the foam clears from your mouth and the pent up rage cools down, you begin to rationalize and acknowledge the truth. This will be a very profound moment in your life. At this stage some people will either run and hide from their own embarrassment, or continue to seek in vain for a way out.