It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Bullying at work

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Mar, 28 2017 @ 03:55 PM
link   
Not sure where else to post this but I suppose it is a rant of sorts. My day job is in the office of a construction company and as you can imagine; sexism, racism and other things people like to pass off as 'banter' are an almost daily occurrence, as is gossip, lack of professionalism and stupidity. The women who work there are nowhere near as bad as the guys and tend to be pretty cool.

Anyway, there's this muslim guy from Dubai who works there, he's been there longer than me and he hardly speaks English. It's actually frustrating trying to have a conversation with him and he weirdly sneaks off to hang out in the toilets about 3 times an hour..as a result he gets joked about a lot and has become pretty much ostracised but it's usually relegated to girly giggles from idiots on the other side of the room who mumble under their breath. Also strangely; the guy in question works out...A LOT and is freaking huge but he never bothers anyone despite all the BS and he doesn't even realise it's going on most of the time because he cant understand what they're saying.

Well today it got taken too far and one guy in particular went in on him telling him nobody likes him, that he's gay for hanging out in the toilets and that he should just do everyone a favour and f**k off. This was completely unprovoked and was done in front of the whole office, some people were uncomfortable, some people laughed and some people; the managers especially just pretended like it hadn't happened.