It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Astrophotographers Here (????)

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 7 2017 @ 06:25 AM
link   
I am a fairly advanced photographer, and am very interested in getting involved in astrophotography. I know several of the members here are involved in the hobby and I'd like to ask you experts some beginner (starting out) questions.

As I've begun to look into this hobby I've quickly become overwhelmed with all the considerations, pieces & parts and what have you. So, my apologies, I'll probably ask some dumb questions initially. First though, some background:

Interest - My principle interest at the moment is the photographic element of astrophotography (i.e. cool pictures). I'm not particularly interested in finding the rarest star or furthest galaxy. I would like to take some really good pictures of constellations, nearby galaxies and planets. This, as opposed to taking some blurry images of rare elusive distant stars and galaxies. Hopefully this makes sense.

Equipment I have now - Basically nothing, outside of photography equipment. My hope is to be able to develop a set up where I can use one of my full size DSLRs (likely a Canon 7D or similar) for the actual photography part.

Budget - My budget to add the astrophotography capability to my existing photographic equipment is up to ~ (US) $3,000 (approximately). I imagine this won't be all at once (but maybe it will, I'm okay either way). This budget may grow over time in the future, but this is where I'd like to start.