It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

My Foray into Woodworking (or how did I fall into this hole? )

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 22 2017 @ 05:53 PM
link   
Long story short, many many rears ago, my dad received a carving set (you know...for meat...). This set in particular:

thumbs2.picclick.com...

Well a few weeks ago he hands the set off to me, and suggests that I build a box for it.
I have never done this before. Sure, I've made boxes-mostly planter type boxes out of 2x4s and whatnot with nails and screws-but never something like this.
The local big box home improvement store was having a sale, so I bought a table saw

and OMG I think I've found my calling!!!
This thing scares the bejeezus outta me, but I love it! After watching about a bazillion videos on how to use it, I made this:

Again, this is the first time I've done anything like this. Please don't judge the marks where the stain didn't cover the glue...I didn't realize that would happen.

Any woodworkers here that might offer tips and/or tricks? After watching all those videos, I wanna make sleds and jigs and use them to make things!
My next project will be to create a box for the whetstone that my dad gave me as well. The original box that it was in has Box Joints instead of just 45 degree corners. Before that, I need to create a Box Joint jig to use.

posted on Feb, 22 2017 @ 06:04 PM
link   
Make your width cuts on the tablesaw 1/16' wider so that you can planer your cut edges, at least the ones that will be showing.
Wipe glue with a wet rag as soon as possible then sand when dry so you don't get the glue splotches showing where the wood stain should have absorbed into the wood.
Also invest in an orbital palm sander so you can sand all surfaces before staining.