It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Text Analysis: Is the Quran really more violent than the Bible?

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 4 2016 @ 02:04 PM
link   
This is quite interesting and the results may come as a surprise to some. I have no experience of text analysis and am not able to confirm how valid the methodology or the resulting data is.

There appears to be a growing trend for a need to question if there something inherently and uniquely violent about Islam as a religion (not my own view). Tom Anderson used sophisticated data mining technology (what he calls, shallow but wide comparative analysis using OdinText) to determine with as little bias as possible whether the Quran is really more violent than its Judeo-Christian counterparts.

Considering many people take at least a year to read just one of these texts, you may find it interesting that it took OdinText less than 120 seconds to read, parse and analyze all three texts at once!

Anderson has split the Bible to facilitate comparison of the Old Testament, New Testament and Quran. His reasons were due to the time period between old and new testaments and also their combined size relative to the Quran.

Though all data (Old Testament, New Testament and Quran) were combined and read into OdinText as a single file, the Old Testament is the largest with over 23K verses and about 623K words, followed by the New Testament with just under 8K verses and 185K words, and then the Quran with just over 6K verses and less than 78K words.

Anderson also took into consideration the multiple versions and translations of the texts available. He chose the New International Version (NIV) Christian Bible over the King James version stating that the somewhat updated language should be easier to work with.