It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Help Me Decide on Gaming Laptop.

page: 2
<< 1   >>

join
share:

posted on Sep, 22 2016 @ 06:25 PM
link   
The new Xbox Scorpio will be my pick

posted on Sep, 22 2016 @ 06:26 PM
link   
a reply to: schuyler

I get what you're saying but a lot of the newer laptops aren't coming with writers or dvd slots so either way one would get cords. I guess it depends on the laptop.

posted on Sep, 22 2016 @ 06:55 PM
link   
I had to ask myself the same question several months ago and I need something with real power. I am a graphic designer and I multitask like crazy while running 3 monitors off of the laptop when I am at home. I just scored the ROG 752.
This is what's in it:
i7, 24gb ram, 1TB hard drive and 1 SSD, NVidia GEFORCE 970M and a ton of other extras. Running Win10 and nothing---I mean nothing can can cause this thing to stutter. I will stick with ASUS forever if they keep making these powerhouses. Mine fits well within your budget. I purchased it for $1,500 brand new and the only downside, albeit expected, is the weight. 12lbs!!!

I hope this helps as I highly recommend this laptop for gamers and graphic designers alike.

posted on Sep, 22 2016 @ 07:26 PM
link   
Order brings up a good point. These days solid state drives are affordable and the problems with reliability are largely over. They move faster than a normal hard drive, which can be crucial in some game environments which constantly make calls to the disk for graphic content.

a reply to: OrderOfIntent

posted on Sep, 22 2016 @ 07:37 PM
link   
build one yourself . . . it will be cheaper plus customizeable to you personally, and easier to upgrade in future.

posted on Sep, 22 2016 @ 11:12 PM
link   
a reply to: Tarzan the apeman.