It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Blacks Are Free Because Republicans Voted For It Yet They Support Democrats! Why?

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Jul, 27 2016 @ 05:32 PM
link   
Im fairly new to politics but as of late I have paid more attention to it and one thing I just can't understand is why Blacks support the democratic party.

I know democrats are much better at identity politics then republicans but the facts are the facts!

Let's look at those facts:

>In 1857, a Democratically controlled Supreme Court delivered the Dred Scott decision, declaring that blacks were not persons or citizens but instead were property and therefore had no rights.

>The 13th Amendment to abolish slavery was voted for by 100% of the Republicans in congress and by 23% of the Democrats in congress.

>Not one Democrat either in the House or the Senate voted for the 14th amendment declaring that former slaves were full citizens of the state in which they lived and were therefore entitled to all the rights and privileges of any other citizen in that state.

>Not a single one of the 56 Democrats in Congress voted for the 15th amendment that granted explicit voting rights to black Americans.

I know there is a lot more evidence that shows blacks have the rights they have mostly because of republicans but what I don;t get is why do blacks support the party that mostly tried to limit their rights?

Help enlighten me ABS.

+3 more 
posted on Jul, 27 2016 @ 05:35 PM
link   
a reply to: sirlancelot

Because black people don't owe their vote to a party because of something that happened in the 1800's.

posted on Jul, 27 2016 @ 05:36 PM
link   
Cause its not the 19th century anymore, both parties pretty much swapped there policies, and now there both a joke.

link