It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Something about the process

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 14 2016 @ 10:27 AM
link   
I've posted almost nothing but my art on ATS, and I figured I would pay it back with a bit about how I create (since times seem dark and hopeless to many).

I am almost entirely self taught and primarily use oil on canvas, but wood panels are also a great surface. I consider myself an abstractionist with heavy expressionist tendencies. So I allow myself to loosen up if I'm not already inspired, which means 2 beers later I am behind the easel. I use a pencil held close to my fingers and very rapidly and fluidly start laying down lines and curves to create a balanced composition. This usually only takes 2-8 minutes. I then refine the lines I like best and start to "wire" the lines together to make overall shapes. This takes about 15-30 minutes. When I am close I get out my thick liner brush and some thin black acrylic paint and start committing to some of the best shapes. The line process is one of the most fun and important processes to me, because things become figurative and change quickly, and it's where the real expression starts to take shape.