It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Moon Cameras?

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 15 2016 @ 08:55 AM
link   
This is NOT a Moon hoax post, but rather just a question I don't know the answer to...

As an amateur photographer myself, I wonder how the film cameras used by the Apollo astronauts on the Moon worked?

I suspect they were surely purpose built cameras (I know many of them were Hasselblad cameras), but there are a few things I don't understand.

For example:

1. Were the cameras pressurized (like the space suits)?

2. If not, was special film used, or does the lack of atmosphere have no impact on film?

3. How did the astronauts manipulate the focus, f-stop settings and camera controls with their bulky gloves on? (this was long before auto-focus was invented) Were the cameras just pre-set for exposure and focal length, and the astronaut had to focus the camera by changing his own position / distance to the subject?

4. How did the astronauts know when the camera was focused? Obviously they couldn't put it up to their eye and look, so how did they tell when a shot was in focus?

5. How did they change film?

6. I assume special lenses must have been used due to the increased UV, lack of atmosphere and other considerations unique to the Moon. How did they ever model these things before getting to the Moon? I guess some of it could have been done on previous space missions, but would these be enough to simulate the conditions on the Moon?

The reason I ask this is, the other day I was trying to work with one of my digital SLR's with gloves on and even that was difficult. And those are highly automated modern day cameras. I thought to myself "If you think this is bad...what the heck did the guys on the Moon have to deal with???"

posted on Apr, 15 2016 @ 09:02 AM
link