It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

New to Lightroom - Critique or tips please!

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 21 2016 @ 11:07 AM
link   
Hello all,
Im fairly new to Lightroom 5. Just got it last week or so.
Yesterday morning i went to the cities marina and did some aerial shots with one of my drones.
Honestly - im just playing around in lightroom. I have very little photography knowledge, other than what i learnt from being hired to assist in shooting a movie. Usually all my photos are used for is aerial surveys. But from working on that movie, it kind of inspired me to start doing some photos and videos.

Please take a look at my before and after and tell me if im missing anything, or if you have any tips!

Original:

Retouched:

If its not your ideal style of photography, thats fine. I just want to know some handy tips that will allow me to improve.
Thanks all!

posted on Feb, 21 2016 @ 11:12 AM
link   
Looks good! Add some clarity, use the histogram and make sure it is sort of in the middle. Then go to the graph and make a slight inverted "S" curve. That will add depth of field. But, the clarity slider is my fav. Slide it to the right about 75%. But overall it looks good.

posted on Feb, 21 2016 @ 11:14 AM
link   
a reply to: samlf3rd
Add some blue and green so the water and ice is a little more vivid. Go to the color sliders and click on the blue button and slide the saturation to the right a little bit. Do the same for the green as well.

posted on Feb, 21 2016 @ 11:18 AM
link   

Ill do that right now, i have it open still.
I will repost after i have added those suggestions

Thank!

posted on Feb, 21 2016 @ 11:25 AM
link   
retouched with above suggestions:

That was actually quite noticable, thanks for the tip!

Would you say that photo is complete now?