It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Getting a chatbot to SPEAK responses

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jan, 10 2016 @ 05:51 PM
link   
I'm new to programming so you'll have to forgive me for not being well educated on its jargon. I'm starting out on Python as I've just found that easier out of the many so far. I'm dabbling with simple chatbot code and I've got the text responses and the conversation tree working properly, however I'd really like the chatbot to SAY the response chosen.

I've set a list of responses (I'll place the code below) to be chosen at random. I'm able to get my computer to say something using:

os.system("say" 'Hello'")

But that's the only way I've found out how. I've tried placing parts of the code into those brackets in the hopes that I'd stumble across a way but I've so far had no luck. Does anyone know any ideas how I'd get this to work?

HERE'S MY CODE:

import random
import sys
import os
def show_response(options):
---choice = random.randint(0, len(options) -1)
---print(options[choice])

random.seed(None)

while True:
---userInput = input(">>>")

---if userInput in ["Ava, you there?"]:
------list = ["Indeed I am, Sir.", "Yes, Sir. What do you need?", "For you, Sir, always.", "I am now.", "What is it, Sir?", "I'm right here.", "How may I assist you, Sir?", "How may I assist you?", "You need something, Sir?"]
------choice = random.randint(0, len(list) -1)
------print(list[choice])
---elif userInput in ["Wake up, Ava"]:
------list = ["What is it, Sir?", "How can I help?", "How can I help, Sir?", "Hello, Sir.", "Hello, Sir. Is there anything you need?", "How may I assist you?", "How may I assist you, Sir?"]
---elif userInput in ["Hey, Ava"]: