It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Tower Crane...Experience (Whoa!!)

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Dec, 17 2015 @ 10:14 PM
link   
I've worked much of my life in heavy construction. After college I progressively got into more technical fields, but my foundation has always been in "foundations" and structural steel.

Working in highrise heavy construction I'd seen many things. As a layout Engineer I'd walked the steel much like any iron worker. I'd always marveled at cranes, especially big ones. Many of the big cranes I'd worked with were big stick, ground based, cranes; Manitowoc 4500's or larger both on tracks and ring cranes. These cranes had giant counter-weights and several hundred feet of boom. They were delivered in pieces, and taken apart and sent back home in pieces. I'd seen all those, but one type of crane always fascinated me...a tower crane.

These cranes couldn't lift as much as the mighty Manitowocs, but they were WAY taller. The Manitowocs were mammoths, but the tower cranes were 30-40 stories taller...and they got taller as the buildings got taller. They were amazing.

As an engineer, one of the things which impressed me about tower cranes was how they could erect themselves, going higher and higher. This is where I focused first. How did they do that? Once you understand the process, it's not all that difficult to see how they work, but I wanted more.

I didn't know it then, but I soon learned tower crane operators are an odd breed. They start up long before the workday starts, and come down long after the workday is over. They don't hang out with the rest of the construction world, but keep to themselves mostly.