It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.
Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.
Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.
"On review of all available angles, it is clear that after the knock-on, the ball was touched by Australia’s Nick Phipps and Law 11.3(c) states that a player can be put on-side by an opponent who intentionally plays the ball. It is important to clarify that, under the protocols, the referee could not refer to the television match official in this case and therefore had to rely on what he saw in real time. In this case, Law 11.3(c) should have been applied, putting Welsh onside. The appropriate decision, therefore, should have been a scrum to Australia for the original knock-on."
"The review found that Joubert incorrectly judged Scottish prop Jon Welsh to be in an offside position when catching the ball, gifting Foley the result-defining kick at goal. Australia scrum-half Nick Phipps had intentionally played the ball before Welsh caught it — a moment missed by Joubert — rendering the penalty decision incorrect. World Rugby’s statement confirmed Welsh was onside and Joubert should have awarded only a scrum to Australia for an earlier knock-on by Scotland flanker John Hardie."
"World Rugby have publicly admitted that referee Craig Joubert was wrong to award a penalty to Australia which sent Scotland out of the Rugby World Cup. Joubert awarded the Wallabies an incorrect penalty with 43 seconds left which was kicked by Bernard Foley to complete a dramatic 35-34 victory for Australia and rob the Scots of a place in the last four. "