It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Is a potential severe weather outbreak coming?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 29 2015 @ 12:05 PM
link   
Let me start off by saying that I'm not a weather expert. However, I am familiar with how weather systems work and have a general understanding of what sets off severe weather. Right now we're seeing a smattering of extreme weather over Texas and the plains. Which is kind of normal for this kind of year.

If you take a look at the surface analysis chart : Surface Analysis Chart, you'll notice two areas of high pressure. One camped out over the southern east coast and another camped out over the gulf.

Right now, there is a very strong flow up from out of the gulf that is pretty much saturating Texas and all the areas we're hearing about in the news with rain and storms. The high pressure setup over the east coast seems to be keeping that cold front stationary over the plains.

If you take a look at current barometric pressures over Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia, etc : Current Barometric Pressures, You'll notice that pressures are pretty high. They have been for weeks now in the Ohio valley and east coast.

This pattern can't last forever. I do see it persisting for most of the summer though. This all leads me to the point of this thread. With all the very strong flow coming up from the gulf that has been persisting for weeks, the first powerful cold front that drops out of the north west dragging Canadian air with it, could set off a chain of sever weather across the Ohio Valley, and East Coast that could be pretty intense.

I'd like some input as to weather anyone else might see the possibility of this happening. I'd have uploaded images of the links I posted to, but I'm unable to upload at the current time.