It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

opinion on Petrodollars

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 15 2015 @ 11:57 PM
link   
I am no economy expert (despite the fact i studied it)so I would like anyone with economic background to explain how does petrodollar system work and what is its impact on our global economy.

Would the movement away from petrodollar system cause similar crisis like the global financial crisis 2007-2008?

There is a lot of talk circulating around
so what are the myths and what are the facts

edit on 15-3-2015 by MimiSia because: (no reason given)

posted on Mar, 16 2015 @ 12:17 AM
link   
a reply to: MimiSia

While one chart might seem simple...

Petrodollar Mercantilism Explained In One Chart

This video might tell you it a bit better...

posted on Mar, 16 2015 @ 02:13 AM
link   
a reply to: BornAgainAlien

What I fail to understand is why nations agreed to it in first place
I mean we can not criticize it if we agreed to it

edit on 16-3-2015 by MimiSia because: (no reason given)

posted on Mar, 16 2015 @ 02:35 AM
link   

originally posted by: MimiSia

US Dollar was the only world currency tied to fold ($35/Ounce at the time of Bretton Woods). The fascists in DC manipulated the law in such a manner that featured no domestic convertability of the dollar (citizens of the US, in other words, were assured of no set value to their dollars... inflation was their master) while allowing for gold and silver certificates on the international stage. America's WWII allies were economically crippled by serious destruction in their back yards, so they had little choice but to accept the dollar as the global reserve currency.