It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.
Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.
Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.
Referee Pete Morelli met with pool reporter Todd Archer of ESPN.com and explained why and how the call got reversed. He also made clear that face-guarding is not a foul in the NFL, although many people are under the assumption is it.
Archer: Can you talk about the decision to overturn the call and why you overturned the call.
Morelli: The back judge threw his flag for defensive pass interference. We got other information from a different angle that thought the contact was minimal and didn’t warrant pass interference. He thought it was face-guarding.
Archer: Face-guarding is not a foul?
Morelli: Face-guarding is not a foul. It is a penalty in college but not in professional football
Archer: Do you remember this type of (play) happening before?
Morelli: No, not particularly
Executives from several NFL clubs expressed extreme disappointment and anger at a TMZ video that appears to show the league's head of officiating, Dean Blandino, out for a night of partying in Los Angeles with Cowboys EVP and son of owner Jerry Jones, Stephen Jones. Blandino appears to be among a group of males and females captured stepping off the Jones' Cowboys-themed party bus and toward a club where paparazzi awaited outside. The Cowboys hold training camp in temperate Oxnard, Calif., and it is not unusual for team officials to take the bus to LA for dinner, etc. The reactions to the video by officials of several teams -- none of whom I spoke to are a natural rival of the Cowboys or had any personal issues with Jones or Blandino -- as well as former high-ranking team officials, were quite visceral. Several expressed concern at the appearance of potential competitive balance issues, given the sensitive nature of Blandino's role and his authority on matters of officiating and interpretation.
originally posted by: Tardacus
looks like defender puts his left hand on the receivers right shoulder and pushed him after the ball was in the air,but I don`t think the ball was catchable even if the receiver wasn`t pushed.
originally posted by: Sremmos80
a reply to: butcherguy
Pettigrew also pulled the defenders mask down so really it should have been offsetting fouls if we want to nit pick it with replay.
Now if it was a niners game I would be pretty salty about the no call
I agree that there were other blown calls, but this one was actually called and then rescinded... pretty much without explanation.
originally posted by: mwood
The headsets on the coaches are so he can communicate with he quarterback.
The rest is all speculation and opinion on your part.
Just another conspiracy theory.
Dont fall for their complex entertainment schemes, it is all fake.
"It's not an automatic penalty. I think the rule that relates to a player taking off his helmet, that's only a player on the field," Blandino told Gregg Rosenthal in a phone interview. "The helmet doesn't matter. It's the official's discretion whether they felt that he was out on the field confronting them in an unsportsmanlike way. In that situation, the officials had some discretion and they felt that it didn't warrant a penalty. They just moved him back onto the sideline."
But if you really think these games are 100% spontaneous and everything is left to chance, wake up and smell the corruption.