It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Grammar Nazis - Get knotted! Cheap shots ahoy!!!

page: 3
<< 1  2   >>

join
share:

posted on Nov, 20 2014 @ 04:38 PM
link   
Bad grammar, spelling errors, typo's, etc. don't bother me at all.
With ONE exception:

It really irks me when I see articles written by professional
writers, columnists, and journalists published in newspapers (online and hard copy)
riddled with errors.
A typo, I can understand. However, grammatical errors, improper punctuation, improper
word usage, run on sentences, etc. should not get past a proof reader. Do things even
get proofread anymore?

I make a ton of mistakes when writing, but I'm not a professional writer.

posted on Nov, 20 2014 @ 07:00 PM
link   
a reply to: and14263

Although I'd probably fall under the definition of a grammar nazi, I generally avoid making remarks about an individual's grammar or spelling in response to a post. I do, however, when quoting their remarks, suffer from very strong compulsions to correct all of their spelling errors. I do not do that because that would be modifying what they actually wrote and that's not cool. Even if it is meant to be helpful and help remove the misspellings so that the idea that they are presenting is seen and not the errors, it's still not cool overall. The ends doesn't justify the means.

I will say that, depending on how bad it all is, it does affect my view of the individual's argument sometimes. Though I generally have no problems with doing this as the idea or argument being presented is the most important point, I still have issues in extreme cases where it takes a lot of effort to not judge someone's idea based on these little tidbits of content.