It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

True Reality

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Dec, 5 2004 @ 02:59 AM
link   
I know this subject has probably been covered before but I figured I would add my own thoughts. It has always amazed me the transformation many go through when about to die. I work in a hospital and I have seen it time and time again where terminally ill patients seem to be “communicating” with those passed. I have seen the blank stares and smiles as patients seem to try and talk to those not present. I had the experience of a grandmother, by marriage, talk to a relative that she had no idea had passed. It’s strange how so many of these people seem to have “last-minute” improvements or a calming right before they pass. I have seen people, who were unconscious for days and on high doses of morphine, to keep them comfortable, awake to essentially say goodbye. It is almost as if they have a foot in both worlds, and can communicate in both. It is like they are disconnected from reality and can thus see the “true” world. I have seen this same behavior in those with Alzheimer’s and other diseases that affect the mind. It is like the mind acts like some sort of governor, or restrictor, and keeps us in this “reality” but when it is compromised we are free to experience so much more. Of course, this could just be a result of the body/mind dying, or being damaged, but it seems to me that there is so much more here. It would be interesting to hear experiences others have had, as this seems so common.

posted on Dec, 5 2004 @ 04:53 AM
link   
I totally see where you're coming from. This is something I believe also. It's as if the mind is the smoke screen, covering the real beauty.

posted on Dec, 5 2004 @ 11:00 AM
link