It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

A Dog's Purpose (from a 6-year-old)

page: 1

join
share:
+10 more 
posted on Jun, 25 2014 @ 09:35 PM
link   
This story actually is a few years old but when I read this, it really stuck with me especially knowing the words were by a 6 year old kid

Sometimes when things seems so complicated, it takes the mind of a youngster to simplify them and put them into perspective for us adults. LOL

This story is told by a veterinarian who had to put this 10 year old dog down that was suffering from cancer & the parents concern for their young son and what his reaction would be towards losing their family dog

The young boy speaks of why Humans live longer than dogs and his reasoning behind it is simply touching and yet simple

Being a veterinarian, I had been called to examine a ten-year-old Irish wolfhound named Belker. The dog's owners, Ron, his wife, Lisa, and their little boy, Shane, were all very attached to Belker, and they were hoping for a miracle.

I examined Belker and found he was dying of cancer. I told the family we couldn't do anything for Belker, and offered to perform the euthanasia procedure for the old dog in their home.

As we made arrangements, Ron and Lisa told me they thought it would be good for six-year-old Shane to observe the procedure. They felt as though Shane might learn something from the experience.

The next day, I felt the familiar catch in my throat as Belker's family surrounded him. Shane seemed so calm, petting the old dog for the last time, that I wondered if he understood what was going on. Within a few minutes, Belker slipped peacefully away.

The little boy seemed to accept Belker's transition without any difficulty or confusion.