It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Driver caught using cell phone jamming device

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 1 2014 @ 02:45 AM
link   
Well, I'll bet a few of us have thought about this. I'll admit, as a trucker, I considered it more than once. Of course, I never did it, but I listened to many other truckers talk about it around truck stop counters. Make your own rolling "Get OFF that phone *NOW*" zone. Ahh... Yeah, The stuff of daydreams.

As long as it stays a dream, of course. It's not just a bad idea. It's illegal. Err...it's not just illegal.. Well.. this is some fine.

A Florida man is facing a $48,000 fine for using a "jammer" in his SUV to keep people around him off of the phone while he was driving.

The Federal Communications Commission says that Jason R. Humphreys used a phone jammer in his vehicle during his daily commute on I-4 between Seffner and Tampa for about two years before he was caught.
Source (emphasis mine)

So who do you think is more sympathetic here? The guy making his own 'No Cell' zone, or the people trying to use their phones in the morning and evening commute? I guess it doesn't matter for his near $50,000 fine (AHEM... WOW! What big teeth the FCC have these days).

I guess that answers the odd question I had out there about whether they worked though. Too well, as he found, since the story also mentions they just tracked the jamming with directional equipment. The same as tracking a signal. Errr... Oops.. Hadn't thought of that, obviously.

Still.. $48,000? Ever wonder who and what these fines actually are intended (let alone actually DO) fund? I've got no idea..but I do wonder at least.

posted on May, 1 2014 @ 02:57 AM
link   
a reply to: Wrabbit2000