It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Rusty Tools? No Worries!

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:
+9 more 
posted on Mar, 6 2014 @ 12:08 PM
link   
Good afternoon fellow members!

I have been a locksmith for nearly a decade now, but we also offer a range of hardware products in our store. You have to diversify in this day and age, and our little three mile chunk of town does not have a hardware store, other than ours. So anyway, one of the things I am often asked to do is "fix" peoples rundown, rusted equipment. More often than not, all that is required is a little rust management.

Here is a pair of shears that came across my counter today...

As you can see, they were pitted with rust, gnarly, dusty, crusty and rusty. I have actually known people to throw tools in this condition out. Here is all the kit you will need, to rid yourself of any rust trouble you might be having with your garden tools...

Ignore the whetstone, because sharpening is a skill that many people learn differently, and this being the survival forum, I doubt that anyone who has ever read a thread in here would need assistance with that! Ignore the washing up liquid also, since I use that in conjunction with the stone.

Now... The image features one sheet of No.320 waterproof abrasive paper, and a sheet of P800 wet and dry sandpaper, as well as some three in one oil.